CBRA AGM: new board sounds alarm over Haro Woods plan

Reviewing this past year’s events and
activities by the CBRA was a good reminder of how busy and effective your
Residents’ Association has been on a wide variety of tasks and issues.  

At last night’s Annual General Meeting, Gene Miller of New
gave us a presentation of a Plan for the Future of the Village and
led a short discussion period.

And following this, Rick Page, a resident
biologist and previous CBRA Board Member provided an update on beach closures
in Cadboro Bay and the ongoing sewage and storm water issues.

Immediately after their election, the newly
elected officers were sounding the alarm regarding the future of Haro Woods.  Responding to a surprise news announcement
that Haro Woods has been declared “technically feasible” as a location for the
sewage treatment plant by the CRD, they immediately held a special executive
meeting to reactivate the land use committee to protect Haro Woods.  

The newly elected board of directors of the
Cadboro Bay Residents’ Association for 2015 are:

  • Eric Dahli, Chair
  • Peter Meekison, Vice Chair
  • Jerry Donaldson, Secretary
  • Lyn Wray, Treasurer
  • Bill Dancer
  • Jennifer Kay
  • Dave Lynn
  • Eric Ochs 
  • Barbara Raponi
  • Michael Tripp

(Names in bold are new directors.) Our thanks to the Cadboro Bay
United Church for the use of their facility for the evening and for Starbuck’s
in the Village for supplying our coffee.

Leave a Reply