Saanich Archives: Search; Gordon Head Airport; Mattick’s farm

It’s Here!: New Online Search Now Available
We are pleased to announce the launch of our new online search! This new system, called Access to Memory, includes over 7,000 digitized photographs and nearly 200 archival descriptions of our collections. You can browse archival descriptions, people and organizations, subjects, places, and photos; or search more specifically by keyword or date range. Explore our collections including corporate records such as the Secession of Ward 6 (Central Saanich) fonds, and community records like the Wooded Wonderland fonds. Start exploring the Saanich Archives Online Search

Airport Between Haro, Finnerty, Sinclair and Dawson Rds. 

In 1947 the area bounded by Haro Road, Finnerty Road, Sinclair Road and Dawson Road was acquired by the Victoria City Council from the Federal Government for use as an airport. This was in response to concern for the lack of air transit to Victoria following the Second World War. The proposed airport was controversial as the area had been zoned by the Municipality of Saanich for residential use. In a 1949 referendum, Saanich residents voted against the proposed airport and the Saanich Municipal Council decided not to rezone the area.  Learn more

When Mattick’s was still a farm
We estimate that this photograph of Bill Mattick harvesting pumpkins on his Cordova Bay farm was taken in the 1940s. A photo of the Mattick pumpkin patch in the October 27, 1946 Daily Colonist had this caption: “There will be no shortage of Jack-o’-lanterns this Hallowe’en in the Greater Victoria area, and this huge field of potential pies bears witness to the fact. The farm of W. Mattick, Cordova Bay, is the scene. Seventeen-month-old Sally Mattick isn’t very happy about the small-size pumpkin that fell to her lot among the huge assortment.  Take a closer look

Leave a Reply