Synopsis of CBRA AGM—and meet the new board of directors

Yesterday’s AGM began with a surprise appearance from Mayor Fred Haynes, on his way to another appointment. He commended the citizens of Cadboro Bay not just for our intelligence and involvement, but also for the way we convey our views.

Eric Dahli, President, and board committee members briefly summarized the year’s activities including protection of Haro Woods, plans for removal of noxious vegetation, critical oversight of the update of Cadboro Bay’s Local Area Plan, and collaboration with other local associations. Eric displayed the Certificate of Thanks received from Saanich for his and CBRA’s leadership on dealing with abandoned boats in the bay.

The keynote address was delivered by Mike Wilson, Director of Campus Planning at the University of Victoria, who gave a detailed presentation of UVic’s plans for increasing student accommodations on campus by nearly 25% to address its commitment to address the student housing shortage. The new designs also encompass a comprehensive cycling network around campus, charging stations, and improved promenades and seating areas that the whole community can enjoy.

The election resulted in twelve members of the CBRA board—three of them new. It was observed that Cadboro bay is fortunate to have so many enthusiastic citizens willing to serve.

Following the election, the floor was opened for questions and new business. There were several questions regarding the proposed “Osprey” townhouse development on Penrhyn St., and why Council appeared to ignore the community’s concerns voiced at the April 29 hearing. It was explained that there is a relative low bar to allow a development proposal  to proceed to public hearing and that the real debate will occur there. The earliest date for a public hearing is June 18, but this had not yet has not yet been confirmed.

At the end of last night’s CBRA Annual General Meeting, the new board of directors (including three new members) held an inaugural meeting and posed for a group photo:

  • Back row (left to right): Rob des Trois Maisons, Eric Ochs, Dave Lynn, Jerry Donaldson, Bill Dancer, Kevin Telmer*
  • Front row (L to R): Eric Dahli (Chair), Barry Andruschak,* Hansdeep Bawa,* Maycira Costa, Lyn Wray, Jackie Horton


*New member

Leave a Reply